Go-to Skincare

There’s a reason I rang up as a VIB Rouge at Sephora this past Calendar year. I buy unnecessary make-up products, something I’m sure many can relate to (stupid consumerism….) but what I’m really a sucker for is; skin care products.

I try new oils and moisturizers like it’s my job, slowly but surely marketers have nailed me in the head with that ‘feel like a million dollar’ crap. However as someone who went from perfect doll skin to having my IUD play a ball game with my hormones (among other factors.) I sought out products that would help me fight off hormonal acne. While we’re on that, one thing outside of my skin care routine that deserves a shout out is Maca powder and Organic Apple Cider Vinegar which are both awful tasting but quite the unsung heroes! If anyone cares to hear more about diet changes that have helped more than my gut please request so!

However on to the products I ALWAYS re-stock and love for my dry, sensitive and relatively clear skin excluding hormonal breakouts that is.

Cleanser: Boscia Purifying Cleanser – Super Gentle, doesn’t strip my skins natural oils yet keeps breakouts away and has a settle scent, which I like. At 28$ it’s reasonably priced and lasts a long time. Currently on my 3rd bottle!Eager to try their Oil Cleanser next.

Toner: Caudalie Moisturizing Toner – Once again, gentle, smells fresh and clean, leaves skin soft rather than stripped. I use this in the morning to re-fresh my skin and occasionally at night either before or after showering/cleansing my skin more thoroughly. In the U.S. I’ve paid just under 30$ for it.

Facial Oil: REN Vita Mineral – After trying out different oils of different price points from various brands I finally kept this as a staple in my skin care routine. It has a light scent, feels amazing and hydrates well. I fell in love with REN products after trying samples I’d receive on Scandinavian Airlines flights and was pleased to see that Sephora among other beauty retailers carry them in New York (was however upset I couldn’t find anyone carrying REN anymore in Helsinki during a visit home).

Moisturizer: REN Ultra-Moisture Day Cream – TBH I ordered this for Alex but have been using it here and there recently along with my Ren oil. It smells super nice and is rich without feeling too heavy. May really consider ordering this for myself next time I stock up!This and the oil ran a similar price point around $50.

Eyecream: Origins GinZing Eye Cream – An unusual essential I just re-purchased and lasts me ages is Origins GinZing Eyecream. A Product I’d only recommend using in the morning either before applying makeup or if you want that extra glow, need a de-puffing product. It has a slight glow/shimmer which seems to bother some but I personally am a big fan of, I have a few other products which I’d highly recommend using around the eyes which I will include in a separate post. Sells for around 30$ at most retailers.

SPF: La Roche Posay Mineral Sunscreen – I seem to be either highly sensitive or allergic to Oxybenzone, which I firmly believe everyone should avoid when choosing a sunscreen. I try to use sunscreen daily which I’ve surprisingly been semi successful at. I switched to Mineral sunscreen a few years back and like this one a lot, it can def leave your face looking a little white but less than most mineral sunscreens, lasts a long time despite its small packaging and blends well with other moisturizers. 25-30$

Body: Neutrogena Body Oil – Inexpensive, great after showers, easy to convince boyfriend to rub on your back (lol), decent smell and easy to stock up on at most pharmacies, grocery stores etc. I have a hard time spending a lot on a body moisturizer unless its scented like one of my favorite perfumes so therefore this has become a go-to!6-9$.

Please feel free to ask questions!I think my next beauty post will feature products that deserve a feature despite not receiving a re-stock on my vanity shelves.

Kram – Yeni

5 thoughts on “Go-to Skincare

    1. Oils tend to be good for people who struggle with hormonal acne! You should ask for guidance in the beauty department and they can usually suggest one that suits you, Sunday Riley has some great oils that I’ve used but they are quite pricey. Also highly recommend mixing maca powder into your smoothies, oatmeal, chai lattes etc! A teaspoon a day for a week really helped me:)

Leave a Reply

